PDA

View Full Version : What recording software do you use?



rugerpc
11-03-2012, 11:48 AM
Now that I have the basement studio (http://prsguitars.com/forum/showthread.php?1413-New-Basement-Studio) finished, I can get back to dabbling in small recording projects.

I currently have MOTU products (Digital Performer and an 828), but the software is out of date. It might actually be a good time to switch boats and get something different instead of upgrading to the current version.

I'm not doing anything very complicated here. I don't think I'll be laying down more than 1 track at a time since it is just me...

I'd like to hear from people who are home recording and what you are using software and hardware-wise. I'd particularly like to know if you switched form one set of things to another and why.

sergiodeblanc
11-03-2012, 12:05 PM
I'm in love with Logic, I feel it is the most complete, and valuable musical instrument I own.

Mikegarveyblues
11-03-2012, 01:21 PM
Using Cakewalk Sonar 8.5 Studio, will be upgrading to Sonar X2 Studio in a few weeks. Also using Native Instruments Alicias Keys for Piano, Toontrack EZDrummer, Izotope Alloy and Ozone for mixing & mastering.

have used other DAW's such as Cubase, Reaper, Ableton. Still use the free Audacity for very basic stuff.

I personally don't feel there's much of a muchness between the big DAW's in terms of how they perform. With Cakewalk I just like the layout and way it works. Nice upgrade pricing too.

Harware wise it's a Cakewalk UA25-EX interface and an M-Audio Oxygen 49 (3rd Gen) Midi Keyboard.

Need to upgrade my monitors but am happy with the rest of the stuff. Just a guy recording some guitar so it doesn't need to be expensive or overly complex.

slowro
11-03-2012, 02:34 PM
I use Reaper, POD farm 2 and Toontrack EZ Drummer
I'm not serious into my recording but it does everything I need. I have been messing about with my old POD pro and impulses but I prefer playing to tweaking

Harker1440
11-03-2012, 03:02 PM
Garage band I'm behind the times in the studio department

Mikegarveyblues
11-03-2012, 04:06 PM
Garage band I'm behind the times in the studio department

Garageband is decent enough software. Most Daws's these days are capable of producing good sounding tracks. What I wouldn't scrimp on these days is a good quality audio interface, monitors and a decent specced computer.

To be honest, Sonar and the VST's I use have way, way more features than I understand. I'm probably doing things that would make a pro engineer cringe, so I have no real desire to spend more on really pro equipment.

Harker.. Change the Y'tube link in your sig to:

http://www.youtube.com/CoverUpRocksu

cyclops
11-03-2012, 04:11 PM
Personally, I use Studio One v2. Great features, stable, and does what I need it to do.

Garageband makes a great starter DAW, as well.

John Scrip
11-03-2012, 04:48 PM
I'm a full-time mastering guy, but occasionally need to do tracking and mixing. That said -- Once I started using Samplitude (currently "Samplitude Pro X), I basically dumped everything else (except for a few "Swiss Army" type programs that get me out of an occasional jam).

Start to finish, soup to nuts, one of the best chunks of 1's and 0's I've ever encountered.

Blackbird
11-03-2012, 05:10 PM
Another vote for Logic.
Although Reaper is an excellent free alternative to dabble with in the meantime.

solacematt
11-03-2012, 05:16 PM
My GF got me Pro Tools for Valentines Day earlier this year. Incidentally she has a degree for audio engineering and knows how to use the program, so I just know what she's showed me :p

LSchefman
11-03-2012, 08:24 PM
As a film/video scoring guy I use either Logic or DP, depending on what I need to do. I mostly use Logic, but I like the way DP is organized for scoring cues on longer projects.

Also gotta say to John Scrip, that's a superb looking mastering suite!

Rango
11-03-2012, 10:30 PM
Garage Band - for fooling around at home, it's hard to go wrong with FREE with the computer.

alantig
11-03-2012, 10:46 PM
I'm using Pro Tools now - and I've barely scratched the surface. But it's a lot easier to use than my previous set up, a Roland VS-1880 and Power Tracks on a - seriously - Windows For Workgroups 3.11 PC. Which I could still be running - but I'm not.

cosmic_ape
11-03-2012, 11:01 PM
Logic Pro.

I studied Pro Tools in school as well, but I feel PT behaves better on PCs and I ain't going down that road again!!!

Aldwyn
11-04-2012, 01:47 PM
Sonar Producer X1c on an Intel I7. I have been using Cakewalk since Cakewalk 1, so it's just familiarity and upgrade pricing that keeps me around I suppose!

I have more tools and synths then I know what to do with, as well... Komplete 6, iZotope Ozone and Alloy, etc...

Tazboy
11-04-2012, 03:18 PM
Cubase 6 and ProTools 9. I prefer Cubase for most things, but ProTools is used and taught at the college where I teach audio engineering.

soundbee
11-04-2012, 07:53 PM
I come from a Cubase background and countless projects with it. To me it was the best "hardware" like DAW - that ran on Windows (PT was not an option at the time). Years went on and I switched over to the cult of mac - and jumped into Logic - I really tried but just couldn't warm up to it. Same w/ Ableton Live - I really wanted to get into both / either for the "live" features but the gui always felt a bit too sterile to me. Earlier this year switched to PT and havent' looked back. It just works well and I spend less time futzing with the comp and setups and more time making music - but can get really deep into it if I want. Also the "hardware" vibe is back. I may venture back to Cubase at some point, but I'm pretty content w/ PT at the moment. Also, knowing that I can swap projects with most of my friends and/or bring a drive of projects into just about any pro studio and start tracking is a great feeling.

John Scrip
11-04-2012, 11:50 PM
Also gotta say to John Scrip, that's a superb looking mastering suite!
Well then I gotta say "Thanks!"

Hopeful Sinner
11-05-2012, 01:28 AM
Ableton Live at the moment...

Richard Lainegard
11-05-2012, 07:28 AM
Logic here (mostly as it's the most stable platform I've tried on mac so far).

Albrecht Smuten
11-05-2012, 07:41 AM
Since no one seems to use Cool Edit Pro... why not? What's your opinion on it, guys? (noob here)

LSchefman
11-05-2012, 10:13 AM
Well then I gotta say "Thanks!"

Welcome!

Dancing Frog
11-05-2012, 04:56 PM
Cubase 6 and Wavelab.

David Grantham
11-05-2012, 06:48 PM
I'm currently using DP 7.22 with Native Instruments Komplete 8. I will be upgrading to DP8 soon.

John Scrip
11-06-2012, 07:10 PM
Since no one seems to use Cool Edit Pro... why not? What's your opinion on it, guys? (noob here)
It was pretty cool back in around 1998 or so...

Albrecht Smuten
11-07-2012, 04:33 AM
It was pretty cool back in around 1998 or so...

I was afraid of that, thanks =)

John Scrip
11-12-2012, 02:47 PM
Albrecht -- If you're looking for "disturbingly cheap" and "quite capable" try Reaper. A bit of an odd workflow, but it does the job pretty well. Actually better than plenty of rather pricey options for that matter.

Albrecht Smuten
11-13-2012, 03:50 AM
Albrecht -- If you're looking for "disturbingly cheap" and "quite capable" try Reaper. A bit of an odd workflow, but it does the job pretty well. Actually better than plenty of rather pricey options for that matter.

Wow! Thanks a lot :)

surfnut
11-22-2012, 01:51 PM
Cubase SX. Havent tried any of the others so I cant comment on them, but I`ve been able to achieve everything I`ve wanted to do with Cubase, while only using about 20% of it...

clcwarlock
02-12-2013, 10:02 PM
Reaper

John
02-14-2013, 05:49 AM
Apple Logic for sure.

John Beef
02-14-2013, 12:01 PM
I took 2 semesters of recording classes at the community college in '99-2000 and made a few good records using 2 ADATs and a couple different used consoles. Then I gave it up for a while, sold everything, then later got back into it. Pro Tools seemed like the obvious choice, so we bought LE 8.05 in 2008. Still running it, still don't know what the hell I'm doing most of the time. If I had some training or used it more than once every several months, I might have a better idea by now.

I've heard there are way better ones out there. I was talking a with a dude at a party last summer who had ditched Pro Tools for something I have never heard of, and now for the life of me I can't remember what he said. :( It hasn't been mentioned here.

sergiodeblanc
02-14-2013, 01:08 PM
I've heard there are way better ones out there. I was talking a with a dude at a party last summer who had ditched Pro Tools for something I have never heard of, and now for the life of me I can't remember what he said. :( It hasn't been mentioned here.

They all have their strengths and weaknesses.

frankb56
02-14-2013, 02:08 PM
I use Studio 1 Professional for my recordings. I'm pretty new to the DAW world and at first I found it difficult to figure out how to use the software. For this reason, for $30 I bought a training video from gPlayer. It made a world of difference. Once I got the hang of it, I sort of went crazy recording. (I record for fun, not looking to make this a career). I have some tunes posted at this website that were all recorded using Studio 1:

https://soundcloud.com/frankb56/sets/ferengie-quantisized

Tag
02-19-2013, 05:22 PM
I just picked up Pro tools and hired someone to teach me all the basics. Its great, but for practice and quick jams over backings I still use my Roland BR600 or 900. MUCH faster and easier to use if you are basically doing guitar tracks IMO.

alantig
02-19-2013, 10:14 PM
I've found ProTools to be much more efficient than the Roland VS-1880. I don't feel like I'm relearning everything every time I record. It definitely has some quirks that irritate me, but it seems much friendlier.

John
02-20-2013, 05:49 AM
I like to use Logic- I'm just accustomed to the workflow at this point, working with MIDI (when I need to) doesn't suck, and it came with some pretty decent plug-ins already before I added some more (such as Stillwell compressors, Toontrack, Redwirez, et al)

sergiodeblanc
02-20-2013, 03:02 PM
Hey John! (or anybody who realizes Logic is the S*#T) have you checked out the King Dubby delay? It's Free!http://www.lowcoders.fr/kingdubby