PDA

View Full Version : Steel Bridge Components



justmund
01-17-2013, 08:26 PM
Been looking at vids for the NF3, and noticed J Hayes refers to it have a "steel bridge", which I assume means there's steel components as per the 305, DC3 and Brent Mason (others?).

Looking at pics of the the Nf3, 305 and DC3, they've definitely got a brass block (sorry to disappoint you swede71) so what exactly is steel? The saddles? The bridge body (and trem screws)?

Anyone got one any of these models and a magnet handy to check?

yankeebulldog
01-17-2013, 09:50 PM
Pretty sure my DC3 had a steel block. I not longer have it so I cannot verify.

swede71
01-18-2013, 04:56 PM
I checked pics on Ebay again.It definitely looks like the DC3 got a steelblock :)

justmund
01-18-2013, 05:23 PM
Can you post a pic? This looks brass to me:

http://elderly.com/images/new_instruments/30N/1DC3_body-back.jpg

swede71
01-18-2013, 05:30 PM
http://i1154.photobucket.com/albums/p524/magber71/dc3_zps122502a4.jpg

justmund
01-18-2013, 05:42 PM
Touche! So it seems there's versions out there with both brass and steel blocks. I wonder if the steel thing was a revision?

Well that answers my question almost, one of the components they refer to is the block.

I'm still curious George about the saddles...

justmund
01-22-2013, 06:35 PM
Update - My NF3 has no steel bridge components

swede71
01-22-2013, 08:42 PM
In that copy of the PRS Sig mag in your other thread it clearly says the NF3 tremolo has steel components.If its not the block it would be interesting to know what they are

justmund
01-22-2013, 09:05 PM
In that copy of the PRS Sig mag in your other thread it clearly says the NF3 tremolo has steel components.If its not the block it would be interesting to know what they are
When I said my bridge has no steel components, I meant, my bridge has no steel components (I checked with a magnet!)

swede71
01-22-2013, 09:24 PM
:)..I believe you Justmund.I meant it would be interesting to hear from PRS what the steel components are.

justmund
01-22-2013, 09:32 PM
:D I reckon it's the block (as evident by your photo) just mine doesn't have one for whatever reason. I do know mine is a fairly early one, you can tell because it has some flame in the neck (now they're plain, and the flameys are reserved for SAS, AP etc).

Maybe there was a material shortage, maybe the guy putting them trems in that day didn't get the memo, who knows!

swede71
01-22-2013, 09:41 PM
Really cool guitar you got.I would love to have a black NF3 with a maple neck.Of course it would have a steelblock ;)

swede71
01-22-2013, 09:47 PM
http://i1154.photobucket.com/albums/p524/magber71/Steelblock.jpg

Heres my Cu22 soapbar with the Callaham block.Sounds great!