PDA

View Full Version : Tremolo Bridge Settings



Mike Duncan
01-20-2013, 11:17 AM
Out of curiosity, can the PRS Trem be set flush with the body? Will it still work and properly line up with the neck angle? I'd be inclined to say, "no". However, as a devout Stratocaster player since 1987 (age 15) I discovered the best way to correct what, again at age 15, I felt was a design flaw was to deck the trem. I also ordered a lefty trem for my Strat from Brian Meader in '88...but that's another story.

I don't like floating bridges and that's always been what I consider to be the weak point in the PRS design. Don't attack me...it's just my opinion. I love my PRS Guitars! I just am curious from a tuning stability standpoint as well as a string bending aspect. I've been thinking of putting a wood block on the spring side of the tremolo block to prevent pull-up on.

Much love and respect!

swede71
01-20-2013, 11:22 AM
http://i1154.photobucket.com/albums/p524/magber71/IMG_2484-1_zps12bb669e.jpghttp://i1154.photobucket.com/albums/p524/magber71/IMG_2504_zps0f5a4ea4.jpg

swede71
01-20-2013, 11:24 AM
Hi Mike!Of course it works.I got this from my Clapton strat.I noticed the difference in tone and loves the stability.I replaced the 1/4 PRS height adjustment screws for 4 5/16 and 8 3/8 screws from an old Fender bridge.Gives the saddles a bit more stability because u have to raise them of course.I setup my guitars with 5/64 stringheight measuring at the 12th fret.I also thinks the PRS tremolo is the weak point but for me its about the brass block as many of you know by now :).To prevent pull-up i use a tremol-no.And yes,i also love my PRS guitar :).Keep in mind,both Fender and PRS tremolos were designed to be set-up floating.

LSchefman
01-20-2013, 11:50 AM
http://i1088.photobucket.com/albums/i332/lschefman/young_frankenstein1_zps566f2c16.jpeg

Mikegarveyblues
01-20-2013, 01:46 PM
I've always deced the trems on my Strats. No wood block in my main Strat now, just 5 springs and the claw screws adjusted so it doesn't budge.

Some folk would say "Why not get a hardtail" but the trem does something to the sound even when not in use.

I do want one guitar setup with a trem so the SE C24 will be it... But it's going to cost a bit of cash to get it to work properly.

swede71
01-20-2013, 03:02 PM
Some folk would say "Why not get a hardtail" but the trem does something to the sound even when not in use.

Thats the reason Clapton having a blocked trem on his signature strat.

Mike Duncan
01-21-2013, 03:07 PM
My Strats have all five springs installed, as does my DGT, and the trem is still in service. I can bend and break strings with no effect on the other strings and still use the trem bar.