Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Change from PhaseII to PhaseIII tuners on 2008, PRS Custom 24, possible.

  1. #1
    Junior Member JEM10th's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    20

    Change from PhaseII to PhaseIII tuners on 2008, PRS Custom 24, possible.

    Recently I bought a new set of PhaseII tuners and replaced the wornout original PhaseIIŽs on my PRS. Made it better but still it feels a little unstable when tuning up the guitar.
    Therefore I am considering tring to exchange the original PhaseII for the newer PhaseIII to see if they make me more comfortable to use.
    Questions that is popping up due to thoughts that they are not so cheap to buy is:

    Is it even possible to do that without redrilling the original "big holes" that are through the guitars head in wich you stick the tuners?

    I know thathe smaller holes for the guiding screws at the bak of the neck is in different positons andthey are my least problem


    Have anyone tried tis before me and willing to share the experience and/or have the measures of the tuners would be really great

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Member tolm's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    173
    Your tuners "wore out" in 6 years? I don't think I've ever had a guitar where that happened!!
    2013 PRS Paul's Guitar, Copper Flame
    2009 PRS McCarty II, Tobacco Sunburst
    2014 Tone King Majesty 45 Head + 2x12 Cab
    Fulltone | MXR | TC Electronic | ZVex

  3. #3
    Junior Member JEM10th's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by tolm View Post
    Your tuners "wore out" in 6 years? I don't think I've ever had a guitar where that happened!!
    I have not seen this Before on a PRS, too, You can be turning them between a quarter turn and a half laps, before something happens in tone.
    My old -92 PRS Cusom 24 10 TOP "winged tuners" did not behave so "cheap" as this is.
    I am truly dissapointed, even the new replaced does not feel "quality".
    Thats why IŽd like to try PhaseIII tuners.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Rider1260's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    449
    I believe you are feel a difference in the gear ratio difference between wings and Phase 2.
    you have to turn a lot so the tuning is more accurate.
    PRS Family - SCT, 408, 305, CU22, MEII
    Others Knaggs Kenai, LesPaul , Stratocaster , Guild
    Amps - Mesa MK2B , Egnater Tweaker 15
    Effects - Tonal Insanity Guitar Effects ( I make them ) TC Electronics Nova

  5. #5
    Member dsenoj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC
    Posts
    110
    Quote Originally Posted by JEM10th View Post
    You can be turning them between a quarter turn and a half laps, before something happens in tone.
    Have you tried tightening the screws a little on the top of the tuner keys? I had a few tuners with a little "slop" and tightening the screws fixed it.

  6. #6
    Junior Member JEM10th's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    20
    Tried to tighten them up but there were still a looseness that feels as if it is too large clearance between the "cogs i the gears". The new set is good. And my question is if there is a differece in the dimension of the holes that you put the tuners through the neck (between PhaseII and PhaseIII)??? All info would be great.

  7. #7
    Junior Member JEM10th's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    20
    Is it just my keyboard that behaves irraticly in this forum? :P
    New set is good but feels not so stable , hence my wish to test PhaseIII instead.

  8. #8
    Junior Member JEM10th's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    20
    Is there any way to achieve some measurement specifications of the PhaseII and the PhaseIII tuners?

  9. #9
    Junior Member JEM10th's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    20
    Silent as it is, about this question, no straight answers, no Pictures, no nothing about this subject ...... well .....


    I solved my own question about changning from PhaseII, to PhaseIII tuners on my PRS Custom 2008!!!

    http://s27.photobucket.com/user/JEM1...faf21.jpg.html
    Last edited by JEM10th; 09-19-2014 at 08:36 AM. Reason: Unstable entries must be corrected everywhere before publish here!

  10. #10
    I would love to change from IIs to IIIs but the extra hole is just not for me and the cost to have it done is $$$$
    PRS believer.

  11. #11
    Junior Member JEM10th's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    20
    Yes I agree with you that it will be an extra hole. This is a well worn player with its scratches and dings, so its not that important to keep extraholes, wich noone yet been commented it when i am out on gigs because they just cant see it. Its a matter of "knowing"
    But there could have been a more compatible solution, so the "existing" hole could be used if one wants to uppgrade. I am Satisfied, I got answer to my long question about size and fit between the 2 models....and I hope this will work smoother now, or else perhaps back to "Vinged" would be a nice try too

  12. #12
    Junior Member JEM10th's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    20
    They work like butter!!! Totally satisfied. Mission accomplished and I am now a Happy Smurf again

  13. #13
    Plank Spanker justmund's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Down under, down under
    Posts
    1,824
    Looks good and glad it worked out for you.

    It just sounded like no one had taken measurements before. Did you happen to?

  14. #14
    Junior Member JEM10th's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    20
    Tried to measure but i realized that they have the same measures when it comes to "height" and "needed main hole". The bushings are going in with a Little help och a "nut and bolt with washers between" as seen in one pic. Were afraid it might be too loose but that is no worries. Seems like "my holes" is "coned" with a slightly bigger hole from the back of the head, tightning up as it goes out at the front of the guitar head. 10mm holes.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •