Thread: Need Info on Locking Tuners for an SE Semi-Hollow Body

Don - Studio Musician cobrafast1's Avatar

Need Info on Locking Tuners for an SE Semi-Hollow Body

Hi Everyone. I just joined this forum. I belong to several regarding music. I find the most informative.

Question: I just purchased a new PRS SE Semi-Hollow Body and I'd like to put some locking tuners in it.

I have Sperzel Locking tuners on my Fender Strat and my Parker Fly Deluxe. They're great.

What's the best tuner for the SE that is either uses the existing screw hole or covers it up, so it does not show? I'm kind of a fanatic on ethetics of guitars.

Any help and experience is appreciated. Please tell me how you eliminated, covered up or reused the little screw hole on the stock tuners.

Thanks so very much.

Last edited by cobrafast1; 07-08-2012 at 08:42 PM.

Grover locking mini rotomatics, model 406c, use the same screw hole and everything. Got a set on my SE Custom and they're great!
    -I'm no expert, but it seems to work and I haven't electrocuted myself yet. Which is pretty much the standard I live by.

SE Custom 24 25th Anniversary - SE Akesson+57/08's - SE 30 Head/Cab

Occasionally Onery Member CantankerousCarl's Avatar
    The used SE EG I picked up recently has Grovers which I understand are a direct replacement; not sure what model they are though, they seem very stable. Hopefully someone else knows the model
    1990 CE24 MT | 1991 CU24 | 1991 CE24 | 1992 CE24 MT
    1993 STD 24 | 1997 CE24 3pc MT | 2008 SE Semi-Hollow Soapbar
    2011 SE Akesson | 2011 CU24 GC Throwback | 2012 Signature Limited
    2013 408 Brazilian | 2013 Paul's Guitar | 2013 S2 Mira | 2013 Hollowbody II
    2013 CU24 Swamp Ash Limited | 2014 SE Zach Myers

Great suggestions so far. Keep them coming. I like to get as much info as I can to make the right decision.

Thanks to all.
    PRS SE Semi-Hollow Body - Parker Fly Deluxe - American Fender Stratocaster