Thread: The ONLY thing I don't love about my Bernie...

The ONLY thing I don't love about my Bernie...

...is the lack of a second tone control. Literally the only thing I'm not crazy about. I love the look, the feel, the binding, the neck, the neck...and did I mention the NECK?

For the sounds, I love the neck pup with the tone all the way up, but I really like the tone rolled off a bit on the bridge. Any other Bernie owners feel the same?

Recovering Bass Player ]-[ @ n $ 0 |v| a T ! 's Avatar
    One Life

Don't have a Bernie, but the control layout shape is the thing that kinda throws me at a glance. Don't mind one tone control on a guitar, but a DGT style layout would be cool (in the sense of all the knobs not in a straight line).
    -I'm no expert, but it seems to work and I haven't electrocuted myself yet. Which is pretty much the standard I live by.

S2 Custom 22 Semi-Hollow - SE Akesson+57/08's - SE Custom 24 25th Anniversary - SE 30 Head/Cab

Yeah, I thought briefly about a push/pull pot, or would that be a stacked pot? Not sure that I know the difference.

Thanks for the suggestion. Any particular specs I should look for?
    Last edited by guitargeezer; 06-20-2013 at 08:55 PM. Reason: Correction

San Francisco Bay Area and west-central Ohio
    A push-pull pot incorporates a switch. Pull up on the knob and it activates whatever the switch controls--usually a coil split, but sometimes a bridge (or neck) pickup on switch for a trhee-pickup guitar, enabling that pickup to be added to whatever's selected by the regular pickup selector. Or an out-of-phase switch--basically, anything that can be switched is fair game. A stacked pot, on the other hand, is actually two pots in one, with concentric knobs for each function. Early Fender Jazz Basses used a concentric pot for each pickup, volume and tone mounted in one hole. They can be a little fiddly, as sometimes the knobs will catch and turn together--they're not supposed to.