Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: 2 volume knobs with rotary switch

  1. #1
    Senior Member slowro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    362

    2 volume knobs with rotary switch

    Would it be possible to have a bridge and neck volume pot (removing the tone pot) with a rotary switch? I loved the dual volume on the DGT I tried

  2. #2
    Senior Member sergiodeblanc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Downers Grove Il.
    Posts
    5,150
    Yes.

  3. #3
    Opaque John Beef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Posts
    1,424
    How would you wire that up, Sergio? I can think of a way, but I wouldn't know where to get the parts without some googling - never seen what I'm thinking of at normal guitar electronics suppliers.
    The Bovine Fury <-- stream and download our album "Eleven by Twelve" for free.
    05 Custom 22 with DGT pickups ~ 07 Mira with old birds ~ 08 SE Baritone Fralin/Suhr pickups ~ 03 SE Santana

  4. #4
    Senior Member sergiodeblanc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Downers Grove Il.
    Posts
    5,150
    Quote Originally Posted by John Beef View Post
    How would you wire that up, Sergio? I can think of a way, but I wouldn't know where to get the parts without some googling - never seen what I'm thinking of at normal guitar electronics suppliers.
    I don't know if it's possible with the circuit board 5-way, but I recall when I took my CE to this fellow Frank Falbo (now working for Seymore Duncan) about ditching the tone pot on my first CE (which has the wafer type) to either a second vol. or the kill switch (which is what I chose) he said: "sure, pick one". I may have been too hasty just sayin' yes, but I dont see why you couldn't do it... As to how? I'll see if he answers my email.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Atlanta,Ga
    Posts
    32
    I have a question kinda like that, I wanna install emg's with coiltaps, but don't wanna use a tone or lose the 5 way rotary........

  6. #6
    Opaque John Beef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Posts
    1,424
    Yeah, the circuit board 5 way makes these things hard.

    What I was thinking was using a stereo volume pot, one for each pickup. That way you can reduce the volume of both the hot and split wires together while leaving their signals independent from one another so they will work correctly with the rotary.



    Quote Originally Posted by claythomas View Post
    I have a question kinda like that, I wanna install emg's with coiltaps, but don't wanna use a tone or lose the 5 way rotary........
    I don't really know enough about EMGs to know if the above would work.
    The Bovine Fury <-- stream and download our album "Eleven by Twelve" for free.
    05 Custom 22 with DGT pickups ~ 07 Mira with old birds ~ 08 SE Baritone Fralin/Suhr pickups ~ 03 SE Santana

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •