Thread: Mix a PRS 2x12 and 1x12?

Mix a PRS 2x12 and 1x12?

Howdy!

I have a PRS 1x12 cab and might snag a 2x12 cab. Since the 2x12 is 8 Ohms and the 1x12 is 16 Ohms, what impedance setting should I choose on my PRS 2 Channel Custom 50 with both cabs connected?

Thanks,
    Rc

The total would be about 5 ohm load, so I think you can probably get away with the 4 ohm setting, since it's a very slight mismatch. But PRS customer service is awesome, so they can probably tell you better by far than I can!
    -I'm no expert, but it seems to work and I haven't electrocuted myself yet. Which is pretty much the standard I live by.

SE Custom 24 25th Anniversary - SE Akesson+57/08's - SE 30 Head/Cab

Quote Originally Posted by andy474x View Post
    The total would be about 5 ohm load, so I think you can probably get away with the 4 ohm setting, since it's a very slight mismatch. But PRS customer service is awesome, so they can probably tell you better by far than I can!
    Thanks for the reply! I actually emailed PRS customer service and their reply just came through Here's what they had to say...

"Thank you for writing PRS Guitars. If you run the 16ohm speaker with a 2x12 8ohm extension cabinet, you would want to set the impedance at 4ohms. The actual load impedance is around 5 1/3 ohms, which is no problem with an output impedance set at 4 (in theory, maximum power transfer is not achieved with any mismatch, but there will be no discernible loss of power). In general, with our transformers, a mismatch of up to 2x (for example: either 4ohm into 8 ohm, or 8ohm into 4 ohm, and so on) will not hurt the amplifier."

Not 100% sure I understand the last sentence, but it seems 4 ohms is what I want to select on the Custom 50.

Regarding mismatch ohmage of extension cabs