Thread: Hollowbody II Questions

Hollowbody II Questions

Hey there! I'm new to all things PRS. I have drooled over them for over 15 years but am finally ready to buy. I have just a few questions that I can't seem to get answered at the local dealers and I am hoping I can get some help here. Any answers to my questions would be fantastic!

Hollowbody II - Is this a true hollowbody or a semi-hollow? I've seen it listed as both on various websites.

What magnets are in the 57/08's? Alnico 5's?

Antique Natural - Is this the same as Old Natural, Antique Natural and Vintage Natural?

How is the neck on the HB II? I have only been able to play one of these once but fell in love immediately 4 years ago. I'm not sure...it may have been a HB I. No local dealers around have them in stock to play now. Are there other PRS's that will have a similar neck that I can try out before purchasing just to get a feel for the HB II? I keep reading the HB II as having a "wide fat neck" which does not sound good to me--makes my thumb ache just reading that description.

Thanks in advance for any help or advice.

It's a true hollow body. The only thing inside is a post beneath the bridge that connects the top to the back.

Wide Fat isn't really all that wide or fat. The nut width is the same as Gibson or modern Fender electrics, and the thickness is only moderately fat. All the HB's had the W/F profile until they changed to the Pattern shape, which they all have now. I haven't played the Pattern, but on paper it's the same as W/F.
    --Garrett--

Thanks, Garrett! This really helps. I should be good with this neck then. I was really hoping it was a true hollow--perfect!

I could be wrong, but I thought the Hollowbody II (doublecut version) was semihollow, with a center block. The singlecut IS fully hollow, except for a piece just below the bridge.