Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: De-stinking an old case... help?

De-stinking an old case... help?

A week or so ago I picked up a used electric that came with a hard case. Cool guitar, but the case smells like a retirement home crossed with a dirty litter box... in other words, pretty bad. To the point where the guitar smells kinda bad too, if you get real close. Any ideas? Should I just throw a couple auto air fresheners in there, or maybe a box of baking soda and let it sit for a while?
    -I'm no expert, but it seems to work and I haven't electrocuted myself yet. Which is pretty much the standard I live by.

SE Custom 24 25th Anniversary - SE Akesson+57/08's - SE 30 Head/Cab

Sometimes it is hard to remove stank!!!!!! I once got a guitar that smelled as if it was an ashtray. Out of the case the oder subsided nicely, but the cases never did. It was just in the fibers to strong. My choice was a new case or strip out the lining and redo it. I opted for a new case!!!! If new is not your desire, frebreeze and time in open in an area with a good cross breeze may do it. Maybe even take out lining and clean if possible, getting oder out of wood will be hard. If it is wood.
    I like surprises!!!

An entire box of Bounce drier sheets. They work well, but it takes time.

Quote Originally Posted by Shawn@PRS View Post
    Perfect! I'll load it up with some dryer sheets for a couple weeks. Can't wait to get the stank out!
    -I'm no expert, but it seems to work and I haven't electrocuted myself yet. Which is pretty much the standard I live by.

SE Custom 24 25th Anniversary - SE Akesson+57/08's - SE 30 Head/Cab

I was going to suggest the dryer sheet idea, but a quicker mind beat me to it.

I've never tried putting Carpet Fresh in a case and letting it sit a day or so before vacuuming it out, but it might be worth a try. I'd probably worry about the leftover powder doing a number on a finish...

Lloyd
    'And the answer is... none. None more Gold.'