Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Tone pros avt II

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    40

    Tone pros avt II

    I asked this in the PTC but no responses so I'll try here


    Everything I can find on the tone pros adj stoptail, the avt-II, indicates its a 12" radius, but our prs SE guitars are 10" radius. Does anyone know what tone pros fits the SE radius? I see the Akesson has a tone pros. Is that an avt-II? Is it a 12" radius on that guitar?

    Or is it the prs designed adjustable stoptail and if so I guess the prs designed one is made to fit the 10" radius on the SEs?

  2. #2
    My name be scrambled ElrytNamrogo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    461
    Not really sure if I'm answering your question, but I used to use the AVT II on an old SE Singlecut. I loved it and felt it worked great....good sustain, too. As to the radius, I'm really not sure but I believe those old SE Singlecuts had a 10" radius, just like they do now. I've since sold the guitar but still have the bridge.
    --Tyler G--
    2012 PRS Custom 24
    - Burnt Maple Leaf 10-top
    2008 PRS Custom 22 - Santana Yellow - Rosewood Neck - 10-top
    PRS SE Singlecut Trem - Tobacco Sunburst -Grover Locking Tuners - Bareknuckle Rebel Yells - Push/Pull Volume and Tone - Graphtech Self Lubricating nut

  3. #3
    Senior Member andy474x's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    West Michigan
    Posts
    1,204
    I was changing strings on my Akesson today and took my bridge off and checked, and it is indeed the AVT II. I've not noticed any problems as far as the radius, and I LOVE having it on my guitar. Really glad the new Zach Myers is gonna have it!
    -I'm no expert, but it seems to work and I haven't electrocuted myself yet. Which is pretty much the standard I live by.

    S2 Custom 22 Semi-Hollow - SE Akesson+57/08's - SE Custom 24 25th Anniversary - SE 30 Head/Cab

  4. #4
    Senior Member sergiodeblanc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Downers Grove Il.
    Posts
    6,642
    Are these different then the ones that PRS was using for their past SE guitars? I had one on my Cantonese and was not impressed... Liked the locking studs though.

  5. #5
    Junior Member Chitarrista scarso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    87
    Interesting question. The Tone Pros AVT II seems like to be a 12" radius, i think is not an impossible difference for a guitar with a 10" fingerboard radius.
    By reading the specifics of two SE models, you can see "Tone Pros" for the Akesson bridge and "PRS" for the Zach Myers bridge; i'm wondering if they are two different bridges, and what's wrong for Sergio in the old versions?

  6. #6
    Senior Member wardog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Canton, MI
    Posts
    583
    This is what I put on my SE SC. Love it and it adjusts to 10 or 12 and looks dang sexy!!!!
    http://www.schroederguitars.com/buy/...toptail-bridge

    They even notch the brass saddles for another 10 bucks!!!!
    I like surprises!!!

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    40
    Quote Originally Posted by Chitarrista scarso View Post
    Interesting question. The Tone Pros AVT II seems like to be a 12" radius, i think is not an impossible difference for a guitar with a 10" fingerboard radius.
    By reading the specifics of two SE models, you can see "Tone Pros" for the Akesson bridge and "PRS" for the Zach Myers bridge; i'm wondering if they are two different bridges, and what's wrong for Sergio in the old versions?
    yeah that's what I wonder. Is the tone pros specially made for prs with a 10" radius or is mismatched and it just doesn't matter like some people say it does?

    Quote Originally Posted by wardog View Post
    This is what I put on my SE SC. Love it and it adjusts to 10 or 12 and looks dang sexy!!!!
    http://www.schroederguitars.com/buy/...toptail-bridge

    They even notch the brass saddles for another 10 bucks!!!!
    When they say it's adjustable, how so? Do you have to file saddles or is a non Invasive adjustment?

  8. #8
    Senior Member wardog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Canton, MI
    Posts
    583
    Quote Originally Posted by Dizzyg12 View Post

    When they say it's adjustable, how so? Do you have to file saddles or is a non Invasive adjustment?
    Easily adapts to a 10” or 12” radius: The out-of-the-box bridge radius is 11” making it easily adjustable to 10” or 12” radius by fine tuning the saddles during setup. (If installing on a 10” radius fingerboard, slightly deepen the outer saddle slots. If installing on a 12” radius fingerboard, slightly deepen the inner saddle slots. Check out the FAQ page for further instructions.)
    I like surprises!!!

  9. #9
    Senior Member yankeebulldog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    487
    Quote Originally Posted by wardog View Post
    Easily adapts to a 10” or 12” radius: The out-of-the-box bridge radius is 11” making it easily adjustable to 10” or 12” radius by fine tuning the saddles during setup. (If installing on a 10” radius fingerboard, slightly deepen the outer saddle slots. If installing on a 12” radius fingerboard, slightly deepen the inner saddle slots. Check out the FAQ page for further instructions.)
    I've used one of these but keep in mind it's lighter than the Tonepros or the PRS adjustable and with those brass saddles, it's got a slightly different tone, a little more high end, very reminiscent of the 2 pc bridge.
    PRS Guitars - PS #4344 SC245, PS #4343 DC245, PS #4858 McCarty Singlecut, Floyd Custom 24
    Powered by Friedman

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •