Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 57/08 TM VS early 57/08..any diffrence ?

57/08 TM VS early 57/08..any diffrence ?

Hello Everybody..I noticed some earlier 57/08 pickups are not marked " tm " trademark...so I was wondering is there a sonic difference in the early production 57/08 vs 57/08 trade mark...did prs tweek them then throw the trademark on them ?..yes I have a tendency to pick it to it bleeds..sorry lol

I'd like to know also... I bought mine secondhand and the seller said they were an early set, in fact he claimed they were a prototype set. And we were on the internet, so it must be true . In all seriousness though, he was a great seller and I have no reason not to believe him. They are unetched, and there are rumors out there that the unetched sets are a little hotter, or have some extra ground up unicorn horn in them, or something. Whether they're any different or not, I love mine...

but I wouldn't turn down the info.
    -I'm no expert, but it seems to work and I haven't electrocuted myself yet. Which is pretty much the standard I live by.

SE Custom 24 25th Anniversary - SE Akesson+57/08's - SE 30 Head/Cab

andy474x..so you have them in gtr now ?..you never had a chance to a-b them w another guitar that has the trademark version ?...hopefully some people who know what we are talking about will chime here..any prs factory workers here ? lol

I have the unetched version on my 2008 Blueberry 57/08ltd CU24. Compared to my other CU24 which has the HFS/VB combo they definitely have a weaker output and are a bit brighter, punchier and very dynamic. Neck 57/08 is bit warmer and muddier than the VB also.

They do sound great but I am struggling to get used to them. Probably because I mainly play Hi Gain and am used to EMG's I also play through a Mesa Mark IV so maybe they are suited a bit better to a more vintage sounding rig.

I heard the earlier ones were less consistent that the TM versions but who knows really!? Would be nice to have some info...........