Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Confession: They all sound like guitars to me.

Confession: They all sound like guitars to me.

I've been going through all the stuff I've recorded over the years, both stuff that I played on or just recorded for other people, and while I can remember some of the guitars used... They all just kinda sound like guitars.

I mean, I know that this song or that song was recorded on a Tele, PRS, LP, Ibanez, etc. 'cause I was there... but aside from the general "family" of pickups used i.e. P-90, hum buckers,single coils, I doubt I can tell the difference between a Fender Telecaster vs. my old studio partners Ibanez Deluxe Tele knock off within the context of a song unless I put them side by side, and you know, looked at 'em.

I've been recording guitars for over twenty years and I suppose I should be a little disappointed in my abilities when it comes to critical listening. After the amp get mic'ed, my mic, and mic pre is chosen, and the sh!t is eq'ed to you know, give the other instruments some room in the mix, I just wind up with a guitar tone I either "like" or "not" and a general perception of pickup type.

Why the hell can't I tell the difference between a vintage Les Paul and a Les Paul classic like everybody else says they can? I mean, I can hear that a certain guitar may have a little more output or that it has a bit more "honky-ness" to it, but I am always thinking in terms of 400hz rather than "Oh, listen to that SG-like Snarl!"

I'm amazed by dudes (and women) who can tell what guitar and amp so-and-so used on a song after a series of rather drastic tone manipulators like the pickups,cables, pedals, amp, tubes, or no tubes, speakers, mic, mic pre, compressor, EQ,... Oh god, then there's the type of EQ and then what if there was tape involved... or God forbid a modeler. F@CK!!! They all just sound like electric guitars!