Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: PRS Archon constant background hum - normal?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    15

    PRS Archon constant background hum - normal?

    Hi guys,

    I already had two PRS Archons in my hands, both got send back to the dealer because there was a background hum going on in the clean and dirty channel.
    Well I expected the lead channel not to be quite, but that there is a hum noise going on on the clean channel (Pretty loud compared to other amps) did make me worry.

    Now I was told by a technician that this is normal behavior for the Archon to have a constant background hum all the time.

    To all of you PRS Archon owners out there, when you flick your amp from standby to full power: Is there any noticeable hum going on?

    I didn't expected that from a PRS Amp and want to be sure that this really is normal so I rely on your experiences since my amp still is at PRS Europe and waiting to be send back. But when the hum is normal, I really have to be reconsidering using the amp.

    Thanks guys.

  2. #2
    Almost was a FG22 owner.. WEDGE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Too close to the casinos in CT.........
    Posts
    1,732
    I would take it to another house and plug in t make sure your electrical feed is not causing the noise.
    ​Secretary of Crackwood Addiction

  3. #3
    Senior Member yankeebulldog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    477
    Are you using the loop? I find that no matter what, the effects in the loop need to be line level or there will be some noise at least with my sh*tty wiring in my house. Right now I'm running a TC G Major II and an ISP G System rackmount in the loop and it's manageable.
    PRS Guitars - PS #4344 SC245, PS #4343 DC245, PS #4858 McCarty Singlecut, Floyd Custom 24
    Powered by Friedman

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    369
    If I recall from your previous post, you were getting "hum" even with nothing plugged in (to the input or loop.) And at any master volume setting.

    That's certainly not my experience.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    15
    Wiring etc. is definitely not the cause of the hum. Took both amps everywhere, nothing changed. So I was told by a PRS tech that all the European Archons have that hum and that he will check if it's the case with all the Archons or a thing only happening with the European ones. That's why I am interested in knowing your experiences.

    It is not a loud hum, not very disturbing on stage levels, but with lower volumes especially with the clean channel it is pretty annoying.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Michael B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Saratoga Springs New York
    Posts
    902
    My ARCHON has no hum....sorry to hear your issue. Seriously I can be hammering at heavy rhythms and do some double stops and such and its quiet as a kitten. Could it have something to do with Europe power being higher watts?
    2010 Black cherry 10 Top Tremonti-signed by Tremonti Modded by PTC DGT frets/signed by PRS
    2012 FBJB 10 top Tremonti-signed by Tremonti
    2012 Tremonti CustomSE Grey/Black heavily modded, DGT frets and nut at PTC
    2014 ARCHON

  7. #7
    SuperD Boogie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Indy, IN
    Posts
    1,322
    50Hz cycle rate of European power can present unique noise situations from those in a 60Hz environment. Not sure where you're located, but it can be unique to your local grid. Try a clip-on ferrite core. You can also try using a computer-grade UPS that has quality regulation.
    + '01 Custom 24 + '11 DGT Standard (Mr. Clean) + '09 SE One + Super Dallas + Stealth 2x12+

  8. #8
    "So, why did you move to the United States? Was it greater opportunity, the freedom thing, what?"

    "Actually, I did it to improve my amp tone."
    I saw ten thousand talkers whose tongues were all broken...

    Website: http://www.elfxi.com

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by LSchefman View Post
    "So, why did you move to the United States? Was it greater opportunity, the freedom thing, what?"

    "Actually, I did it to improve my amp tone."
    MOST AWESOME POST......EVER!!!

    Dude, seriously I nearly fell of my chair reading your post...

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by yankeebulldog View Post
    Right now I'm running a TC G Major II and an ISP G System rackmount in the loop and it's manageable.
    Hey man,

    I'm just curious, the ISP your using, is it the noise reduction unit? Does it work any better than what's in the G Major? I use the Major II as well, and I couldn't imagine the noise gate in that to work any better!! It simply does the job!

    Not to derail this thread, but without a noise gate, my Boogie DC5 would be unusable on the lead channel. That bad mother hums like crazy for some reason. Been meaning to get it checked out but with the TC gate working so well I really don't need to.

    I'm VERY surprised to hear hum on a clean channel though, that doesn't sound right at all.

  11. #11
    Senior Member yankeebulldog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    477
    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisCst22 View Post
    Hey man,

    I'm just curious, the ISP your using, is it the noise reduction unit? Does it work any better than what's in the G Major? I use the Major II as well, and I couldn't imagine the noise gate in that to work any better!! It simply does the job!
    The ISP i'm using has the 2 channels so you run a gate in front linked to the threshold of the gate in the loop. That way if you turn down the volume or switch to clean, the gate will adjust accordingly. I like that setup better than just running the TC gate in the loop. This way it also cuts any pickup noise, etc. as well as anything coming from the amp.
    PRS Guitars - PS #4344 SC245, PS #4343 DC245, PS #4858 McCarty Singlecut, Floyd Custom 24
    Powered by Friedman

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    15
    Alright guys...The guys at the PRS factory told my tech that the slight hum coming from the amp is normal and that this occurs with every Archon out there. Now I am totally confused. So you tell me your Archon does not hum but according to PRS they do? Could you listen to your Archons...Plug nothing into the amp and listen to the speakers. Flick the amp from standby to full power...Is there ANY hum? Please tell me...

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    369
    Just did it to make sure I just wasn't listening for it before. Really, no hum. At all. Nada.

    Any chance you can record the hum and post it?

  14. #14
    Senior Member Michael B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Saratoga Springs New York
    Posts
    902
    Yeah man...no hum...just the regular tube amp hiss and its a quieter hiss than my Peavey JSX! Might be because the JSX is 120 watts?
    2010 Black cherry 10 Top Tremonti-signed by Tremonti Modded by PTC DGT frets/signed by PRS
    2012 FBJB 10 top Tremonti-signed by Tremonti
    2012 Tremonti CustomSE Grey/Black heavily modded, DGT frets and nut at PTC
    2014 ARCHON

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    15
    Finally have my Archon back...Now I am just enjoying the sounds of this beast without caring about the hum. It is a pretty slight hum and normal according to PRS.

    Well, to close this thread...I have received a statement by a PRS engineer:

    "It is true that all Archons, as well as the 2-Channel series have a slight bit of hum/noise even with the master controls turned off (and nothing else plugged into the amp), as the master controls are located before the effects loop tube, phase inverter, as well as the power tubes. These tubes produce a slight amount of noise in their normal operation (mostly from the ac filaments)."



  16. #16
    Cool that you're enjoying it!

    I'm still waiting to play through one.
    I saw ten thousand talkers whose tongues were all broken...

    Website: http://www.elfxi.com

  17. #17
    Name Manglin' Putz alantig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2,646
    Quote Originally Posted by LSchefman View Post
    Cool that you're enjoying it!

    I'm still waiting to play through one.
    C'mon over. I'm only about five hours away!
    Alan

    "I watched approximately 45 seconds of 'Rock Of Ages'. It was like getting punched in the soul." - Abby Krizner

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •